Delurk! Do it now! Pretty please?

I’ve seen a few posts about it being International Delurking Week, so I will make this an open invitation:  say hello, willya?  Seems to work best when the blogger asks a question, so…let’s get topical, shall we?

I used to be a terrible TV-wastehead (that’s what we called my uncle when I was a little kid.  Uncle TV Wastehead), but now I have very little time to chill on the couch and zone out.  I started The Walking Dead (three or four attempts and I’ve yet to finish the first damn episode!  Noooo, I’m not sleep deprived or anything) on Netflix, but I feel like I’m possibly ignoring some better stuff that’s available.  I’ve yet to start Downton Abbey, or several other series that I have heard good things about.  In your opinion, should I keep going with TWD, or abandon it and start something else?  I am much more of a TV-series person than a movie person, so please keep your recommendations to the former rather than the latter, if you can.

Okay, go!

8 thoughts on “Delurk! Do it now! Pretty please?

  1. SunTzuSays says:

    Walking Dead first season okay, third season so far good, second season lame. I’d say only if you enjoy watching peripheral characters meet grisly fates and lots of zombie death splatter. Otherwise, it’s hard to get into simply because there are few decent rounded characters (and the only woman who is sort of… is annoying).

    I’ve heard good things about Downton Abbey as well, but I am suspicious it’s more of the American “anything with a British accent involved is better”. It’s probably more your cup of tea, if you like tea.

    In checking what’s available on Netflix… I’m assuming you’ve already checked out Mad Men and/or Breaking Bad?

  2. Courtney says:

    I totally suggest Battlestar Gallactica. BEST SHOW EVER!

  3. Amy says:

    I rarely get into science fiction (I have a hard time suspending that much belief, I guess), but I have heard so many people rave about it that I may just have to try it!

  4. Heather says:

    At the moment I like Suits, the good wife and Homeland. And the junkie in me goes for Bachelor.

  5. Amy says:

    I haven’t even heard of Suits, will have to check that out, thanks! Have heard good things about Homeland, too. I don’t do too much reality TV anymore, but for a while I was watching Teen Mom on Netflix. 🙂

  6. Esperanza says:

    Downton Abbey is great. I second Courtney’s suggestion of Battlestar Gallactica – but that is a significant commitment. I just ordered the first season of Justified from Amazon (for only $14) because I heard it was good and I’m rewatching Alias in it’s entirety while grading papers these days. Just some suggestions…

  7. Amy says:

    Thanks! I’m going to have to give both of those (DA and BG) a fair chance. So many smart people with good taste can’t be entirely wrong! I bet you will love Justified – we have really enjoyed what we have watched so far! One of my best friends is an Alias addict still. I haven’t watched much at all of it, but maybe that will make its way onto the list too.

Leave a Reply

