Boom

It may never happen again, but he slept through the night last night!  From midnightish to six-thirtyish!  I had gotten in the bad habit of just staying in the living room until his middle-of-the-night episode and then moving us both back to the bedroom, but I woke up on the couch this morning (six weeks one day, for future reference), mystified.  Yay!  I laughed my ass off a few weeks ago when I saw in one of the weekly your-baby-is-x-weeks-old emails that sleeping five hours in a row counts as sleeping through the night. Um, no.  Sorry, but I think six is the minimum to qualify as a night’s sleep.  We did it!  I just wish I hadn’t done it on the couch.  D’oh.  Hopefully tonight won’t be a disaster now that I’ve gotten so cocky.

We’re also getting a lot more social smiles.  I could fill a Scrooge McDuck swimming pool with them and never get out.  This one is from just over a week ago, but they sure aren’t getting any less cute:

Anyone have any magical burping tips?  I feel like we waste too many feedings or parts of them because he refuses to (or can’t, don’t really know of course) burp, then he pukes up what looks like it has to be almost everything he just ate.  Doesn’t seem to bother him much, but here is where I get all angsty about wasting all that liquiiiiiiid goooooolllllld.  Also, all of this:

6 thoughts on “Boom

  1. Mrs. Misfits says:

    What a cutie! Burping. My sis just did an intensive over the shoulder training, where our primary technique was the front hold. My only tip is to keep trying for longer than you think. It takes so long for Eve. Our six week sleep heralded the start of her growth spurt and the end of her daytime napping. I am stoked for your little dude putting the night hours in and will wish you loads of nights like that. Eve is gradually adding hours, she was at 4, then 5 at six, and now trying to go 5 1/2 or so. I can't wait for that 6 hours, too!

  2. That makes sense – it seems like it's usually shortly after I give up on getting a burp that he spits up. Will just have to work on our own endurance! I hope you hit the six hour mark and beyond soon; I think our one instance so far was mostly a fluke. So far he's been pretty great about going with the flow, but I really ought to be more consistent with an actual bedtime routine if I want to encourage him to repeat it.

  3. Courtney says:

    Oh, he is super cute! I remember staying up, and up, and up until the later feeding and wondering so many nights if that night was going to be the one time he slept through the night. It took us 10 months. HA! Congrats to you!!!

  4. Thanks! I hope he regularly gives you 12 hours plus now to make up for those first ten months! 🙂

  5. Andrea says:

    For the littlest ones I think forward facing works best for burps (hand at chest/neck/stomach) and a massage plus thump (if that makes sense). But also some babies just spit up more. If it doesn't seem distressing to him don't worry about it.By the way so fucking uber cute!

  6. Thanks! Yes, a combination of forward leaning and over-the-shoulder usually seems to do the trick now. Not always, but usually.

Leave a Reply

