Just Checking In

I shudder to think what our next utility bill is going to look like, yet I’m supremely grateful to enjoy the luxury of air conditioning and electricity in general.  Today the high temperature is projected to be 105F (41C) with a heat index (what it feels like with the humidity) of 110F (43C) .  That’s ridiculous.  Too hot to even think about taking a blanket outside to sit under the shade tree in the backyard, let alone consider a walk down the street to the park.  I’m sure we’ll get to enjoy doing these things soon, but I am feeling impatient to cram all the memory-making I’ve imagined doing (plus all the other less fun stuff that that should have been done while I was still pregnant, like actually finishing the nursery and cleaning and organizing the rest of the house) into the remaining weeks I have off work.  


Ike is still doing great.  I’m definitely in that haze where getting not just a shower but also a meal feels like a monumental achievement, since we have no schedule yet and I’m not feeling confident enough that he’s completely past the jaundice (the whites of his eyes still look just a tiny bit yellow to me, though the pediatrician said that would be the last visible sign to clear) to not feed him on demand.  Yet he really is overall a fairly easy baby, I think.  His grandparents left yesterday, and while their visit was actually relatively lovely, I’m feeling grateful to sink back into our little cocoon, with the option to breastfeed while sitting on a couch in the living room rather than have to get up and go to the nursery or to our bedroom for privacy.  As much as I feel like I should accomplish a bunch of stuff this afternoon, I think I’m going to settle for a bath and a nap instead, right after I eat something – perhaps something healthy, even!  My discharge instructions from the hospital started with PAMPER YOURSELF, just like that, in all caps, and I don’t feel like I’ve really had the chance to comply, so hopefully I can indulge a bit over the next several weeks and truly savor as many moments as possible.  Here are a few that I tried to capture as I was savoring:  

6 thoughts on “Just Checking In

  1. Mud Hut Mama says:

    Here from LFCA – What a beautiful boy! Congratulations – I love that adorable foot photo!

  2. Jjiraffe says:

    He is BEAUTIFUL! Congratulations!! 🙂

  3. Heather says:

    Congratulations! Hope you do get a chance to pamper yourself.

  4. Thanks, Heather! I am trying here and there – not easy, as I know you know!

Leave a Reply

