Past Due

Yesterday was Ike’s due date.  I kept thinking I’d get something posted, but…well, shit happens.  A lot, which is good – I think his jaundice will be well cleared by the time we get to his two week checkup on Monday.  Anyhow, a few last belly pics.  This is at the doctor’s office Thursday morning, after the good NST but before the low AFI ultrasound later that afternoon that sent me to the antenatal unit overnight (38w0d):

These are before/at the wedding, the night before I went into labor, so at 38w2d (same dress as here at 30 weeks):

I really figured that I’d go another two weeks, or at least make it to within a few days of my actual due date. So much for that!  I am so glad that he’s here, of course, but I will admit that I feel a tiny bit cheated wait, not cheated, that’s ridiculous, I’ve been cheated of little throughout this pregnancy…let’s just say that there is definitely a part of me that will miss being pregnant.  I was starting to get uncomfortable, yes, but I wasn’t completely miserable yet, and I am definitely still regretting that we didn’t get more cleaning and organizing done beforehand.  Mike’s parents arrive tomorrow and I wish that JUST ONCE it could look as though we have our shit together when they walk in the door, even if that illusion would still shatter once they sat down and stayed a while.  Alas, ’tis not to be.  As usual, we have made significant progress but fall short of actually clean.  Oh well.  At least he’s not crawling yet!  I shall shortly go ignore a few dog-hair dustbunnies in favor of scrubbed kitchen surfaces.  Whee.

Yesterday was also Mike’s birthday.  Sorry, Mike.  You got your present early this year, and there’s no gift receipt.  I’m guessing that’s okay with you.

2 thoughts on “Past Due

  1. Heather says:

    Congrats – he is gorgeous!!!

  2. Thanks, Heather! So is Nicholas!!

Leave a Reply

