Non-Icky Thumps

I am finally convinced that these little thumps are definitely movement.  It is weeeeeird, but very cool.  He seems to like sugar (duh), spicy food, and wine (shut up), among other things (unless of course he hates them, but let’s go with likes).  Good tastes, little man!  Thankfully I haven’t suffered heartburn (yet?  oh please no), so we’ll keep that spicy food experiment going as long as I can stand it.  Eventually this charming jabbing should morph into OMFG KID GET YOUR FEET OUTTA MY RIBS AND QUIT JUMPING ON MY BLADDER, but until then….awwwww.

So I pretty much screwed up and ruined the “surprise” for my dad.  He’d said that he didn’t want to know the sex…which I figured would be pretty impossible to keep up for the next five months, but he does have great powers of not paying attention, so…I tried.  And then quickly failed.  Oops.  We were talking about the tests and stuff they do right after birth (Vitamin K, eye ointment, heel stick, etc.) and my mouth was way ahead of my brain and the word circumcision slipped out (without even going into how I rolled my eyes when saying it because I may or may not think it’s barbaric and unnecessary and a really weird meaningless religious ritual to whack off parts of genitals and no I don’t think the purported health benefits completely justify it but no I don’t have a penis myself so maybe it’s not fully my decision?  Gah.  ANYWAY….)  Maybe his powers of forgetting will prevail, but I doubt it.  I feel bad, but…seriously?  How was that really going to work anyhow?  Maybe we’ll be really lucky again and can stay ignorant ourselves a second time around (I know, what a terribly greedy thought).

On the preparation/home improvement front, we finally said goodbye to our nasty old carpet.  Wheeeeeee!  There’s still plenty of finishing to be done, but the carpet is gone and has been replaced with some nice enough laminate.  I’m so over-the-moon happy to have an easy-to-clean, hard surface, even if it’s not the natural, sustainable bamboo or cork of my dreams.  Next up, hopefully soonish – registries and hospital tours.  YIKES.

Here, have some tunage (yep, that’s a word now, because I said so.  Or do you think it should be tuneage?) for your Tuesday:

(18w5d)

2 thoughts on “Non-Icky Thumps

  1. So far as I can tell, most of the health benefits are for Sub-Saharan Africa, or possibly an inner city poor neighbourhood. Basically communities with relatively high HIV rates, relatively low condom use, and some degree of sexual promiscuity to boot. Only some of which describes the Midwestern suburban United States experience. The rest of the benefit is from not washing one's junk or from rather obscure foreskin behavior. Your mileage may vary on whether that's a sufficient justification. I find most of the non-ethical reasons not to rely on not very convincing evidence either for what that is worth. So it comes down to a religious ritual harkening back to when most religious rituals usually consisted of hacking things apart and whether or not one thinks that's ethically sensible. Otherwise let the good thumps roll.

  2. Helene says:

    Yea for movement.:) The little one is definitely showing proof of exceptionally good taste.:)As for circumcision "barbaric" sums it up quite nicely.

Leave a Reply

