Because that makes all KINDS of sense

So.  Yeeehaw!  I called Anthem.  For what, I’m not sure.  I was all prepared with my list of blood tests, descriptions AND codes, right?  Half of them came up in the system as anesthesia.  Really?  I mean, I’m all for some good drugs when needed, but I don’t think that’s exactly what’s called for in my situation, just yet at least.  Plus, I’d think that anesthesia should be a lot more expensive than some bloodwork.  But what the fuck do I know?  Very little, apparently.  So, I call the doctor’s office, press three for the insurance guide person.  She’s not a fucking clue either.  Riiiight.  She does at least know that each office or hospital or standalone lab has their OWN codes for tests.  Ummm.  Right.  BECAUSE THAT’S SO HELPFUL?  So she offers to send me back to the nurse line to get an explanation for the tests.  I can google, thanks.  I’m not as worried about what they’re going to test for as I am WHAT IT’S GOING TO COST ME.  I mean…really?  So I have to call this standalone lab, who I’m SURE is staffed by the top of the class, to get THEIR codes, which hopefully Anthem can make heads or tails of…?  I see this not working out too well, but that could just be my burgeoning pessimism.  Fuckityfuckfuckfuck.  This is stupid and tedious and makes me not want to bother with it.  Going to be a pincushion shouldn’t require codebreaking skills.  Just my opinion.

One thought on “Because that makes all KINDS of sense

  1. suntzusays says:

    This was the one thing I was really happy was in the health care bill: price transparency by the DOCTORS office is required (they're the ones who fumble and fuck that up, the insurance companies don't care). But…. it wasn't required until next year. So yeah. Great fun for you.

Leave a Reply

