Put on a happy face.

The upside to driving Mike’s car?  Old CDs.  Especially the mixed ones made by loved ones.  (My sister rocks.)

I missed Blog for Choice day (title links), but Scott Weiland kinda did it for me.  I’ll just try to transcribe his story…  I have no idea where this came from…she marked it 12-1-01.  Surely that’s the day she found it online.  These CDs are priceless…back then people uploaded shit they recorded off the radio and stuff…?  Apparently, anyhow.  Some radio/live performance/interview?  No idea.  Fair use, I suppose.

…off the second album, Purple, and um, it’s also about a painful and sort of heartbreaking experience that I went through years ago, in an old relationship where uh my old partner and I went through an abortion situation…and uh, you know, it was a difficult choice to, for both of us at the time, and it was the decision we made, and it was not an easy one, but thank god, you know, we were able to have that choice.  So this song is called Kitchenware and Candybars.

[missed a bunch of ums, but…you know.]

(lyrics via)

somebody told me, I know where to go
somebody showed me, I was last to know

sell me down the river
sell me down the river
sell me down the river
sell me down the river

what I wanted, is what I wanted
what I wanted is what she wanted

unfriendly feelings, down on wounded knee
unfriendly reasons, some blind mother’s need

sell me down the river
sell me down the river
sell me down the river
sell me down the river

what I wanted, is what I wanted
what I wanted is what she wanted

you read the words and it sells you life
they sell their words, but it’s all a lie

ETA – this is obviously something that needs to be said and heard or read, but not the reason I went invite only.  I’m pretty sure the pod doors will reopen and all…just have some other shit to bury first.  I’ll get to it.  Trying not to hurry.

Leave a Reply

