Grace in Small Things

  1. Eggs.  Especially ones literally fresh from a (small) farm.  The shells aren’t as thin as paper, and they actually taste like EGGS.  Not going think about how much more cholesterol’s in that vibrantly yellow yolk.
  2. Cutting down dead brown stuff to make way for newly growing green stuff.
  3. Good parents, and extended family who aren’t in any way totally irresponsible assholes.
  4. Good foster parents, and other people that actually give a shit.
  5. Smithwick’s.
6 thoughts on “Grace in Small Things

  1. suntzusays says:

    I assume the further away from sickness you get the less concern you will have for cholesterol and blood pressure?

  2. LOL. That depends. I wasn't being totally sarcastic below in saying that I ought to find a GP, probably get a baseline for both, now being a thirty year old "adult." My dad has high cholesterol despite being thin and having a good diet – the hereditary kind, I guess. A little less scary when you consider it likely came from my grandpa that still lived to 99 (though aren't they saying now that the brain plaque found in Alzheimers/dementia patients is related to cholesterol? Too much grim reading to do). The blood pressure probably has more to do with managing stress…I of course should also quit smoking and walk the freaking dog every once in a while. I hate to think of real dietary restrictions. Shudder.

  3. suntzusays says:

    I'm not sure why turning 30 (roughly) should turn people into frightened and cowed beings seeking medical counsel to prevent them from falling to a grave or into a grave and degenerating condition. Reading medical news is pretty much guaranteed to be scary reading. I prefer asking in-family, or at least a doc, and ignoring anything medicinal sounding in the news. There are certain advantages to not starting (potentially) addictive habits.The lack of the former dog to walk has probably been a bigger problem for my overall health than anything else. That was good for an extra 30 plus minutes of exercise per day. Having a yard means gardening (good), but fewer walks (bad). Trade-offs. Walking the dog might be worth not worrying about your diet. At least I always thought so. But then, I never go to the doctor to check my blood pressure and LDL level (and probably should given a similar clan history). YMMV. The biggest concern for now is injuring knees and ankles with all the jumping I do.

  4. LOL again. I'm not cowering or really frightened…certainly 30 doesn't feel any different than 29, and I'm a big fan of listening to what the body tells me. Right now it mostly says RELAX, FRANKIE. Which I admittedly am finding a bit hard to do of late. My in-family physician read one study on people who eat bacon every day and a correlation to bladder cancer, which Mike's grandpa had, and declared no bacon ever again for her spouse, so…yeah. LOL. Still better find a GP, or at least the name of one and a recommendation. If only so as not to have to go back to the guy at the urgent care ever again! Yes, nice to feel some muscle soreness from the little bit of pre-gardening stuff I was able to do yesterday. Mike does some serious dog walking when the weather allows. I should tag along more often, indeed. That it only takes one person to hold a leash isn't much of an excuse. Yes, I've heard some horrific horror stories about knee injuries. Also shudder-worthy. My dad once cracked a bone in his foot that is apparently the slowest-healing bone in the human body. Or maybe it was just slowest in the foot/ankle. Still. That was a looong time to be on crutches!

  5. suntzusays says:

    I've torn two ligaments in my foot. The second one my ankle and most of my foot was purple for almost a month. There was nice audible popping noise and no warning. I was in mid air and then I pretty much had to crumple to the ground. For that there's not much use for doctors. Just stay off it and don't run/jump around for a couple months. But if that's the worst thing that happens to me, I'll consider it very lucky. Basketball is not known for being easy on the knees. I've already seen my dad blow out an ACL during a game as a kid. It wasn't much of a horror story. The drainage after surgery was more likely to be horrifying. Bacon is fine in moderation. As with most things. Water in too much quantity will kill you. That's pretty much what you learn from talking to doctors: don't overdo anything. I'm pretty sure there are other positive aspects to communal dog walks besides the exercise. My experience was that it was/should only a solitary one when 1) someone was mad and needs some time to bleed it off 2) bad weather 3) someone is doing a lot of thinking and likes to walk to think 4) one of you is really busy and the dog (or the other person) is being a pest. That's pretty much it.

  6. Owwwwwwww. And yeah, ew. Very true. Also very true. LOL. He started it more as an exercise regimen for himself…with much longer legs and bigger lungs I had no shot of keeping up (the poor dog!)…but I shall force it to be less of a sprint every once in a while. Good call.

Leave a Reply

