Right back atchya, little buddy.

Dear Gulliver,

I too entreat you and your more-than-tinctures of holier-than-thou vicelessness (yep, I can make shit up too) will likewise not presume to come into my sight.  You make my flesh crawl, to again use your own turn of phrase.  Get bent.

Kindest Regards,
Me

PS.  Yes, of course.  It’s entirely possible that I just don’t get it.  I probably should have read your tale with a hearty helping of Cliff’s Notes, or Spark’s Notes, or whatever the kids are using these days.  But thanks to wikipedia and the interwebs, I think it more likely that I get it just barely enough to know I despise how you say it.

PPS.  I bet your wife thinks you stink, too.

9 thoughts on “Right back atchya, little buddy.

  1. Possibly the best book review ever written. I hated reading Gulliver's Travels, too…even with the SparkNotes.

  2. Hah! Thanks. I'll admit that I kind of love to hate it, somehow…? I mean, it definitely had me chuckle or WTF-out-loud at least a few times, but it was still just…not at all…endearing. Just….ew.

  3. Bazarov says:

    I think part of that was the point. I'm guessing people held themselves in quite high regard when that book was written. Then again, I'm not a fan of people, so that's probably why it spoke to me so well. I'm thinking you'd like Master & Margarita better, but who knows until you read it.

  4. Right, right. It did feel like my disgust was the author's intention, so perhaps it was spot-on. I do have to hand it to Swift, it's hard to say whether I really dislike him or just Gulliver. I'm going to go with both, though ;-p.

  5. suntzusays says:

    Books that appeal to people with low agreeableness and anti-social characteristics probably aren't going to appeal to people who sort of like the fact that they are people rather than secretly resent both that and the fact that they have to put up with other human beings pretending to be people. Besides, this was the same guy who wrote a "A Modest Proposal: For Preventing the Children of Poor People in Ireland from Being a Burden to Their Parents or Country, and for Making Them Beneficial to the Publick", with the idea of selling poor children to be consumed as food. Satire of a somewhat outrageous and peculiar variety should be expected. If that expectation isn't all that kindly looked upon, then oh well. Not everybody thinks the Three Stooges are funny either (I happen to prefer the Marx Brothers myself).

  6. Luckily I have not read that, so I wouldn't know if it sucked or not. But whatever, I'll take your word for it. Anyway, your profile says to leave links to our blogs, so if you're looking for something random and funny, go here:http://dmintedfairy.blogspot.com/Or if you want to read book reviews or short stories, go here:http://jackabeast.blogspot.com/Both are fantastic, but I only say so because they're my blogs. Personally, all my work is fabulous, but that's just me. So anyway, I'll be checking in often, you sound funny.-M.E.

  7. I LOVED A Modest Proposal.

  8. Yes, I haven't given up on Swift all together. That one should go on the list too!

Leave a Reply

