Also, makes me want a donut.

Another song I can’t currently quit playing on repeat.  No actual video for this one, unfortunately, but youtube of course gives me something (the other version has some horrible spelling/transcription errors, at least to my ear, on its posted lyrics).  Also, the track doesn’t actually feature Trent Reznor, but was co-written by him with Maynard.  Right after C is for (Insert Sophomoric Genitalia Reference HERE) came out, people were apparently all up in arms over that distinction, a concept Maynard somewhat hilariously illustrates here (Writing and performing 11/18/09 – sorry, can’t link directly to the post.  Also, auto-playing music).  I guess there is still some question over whether there’s an original version, too, since the actual track title is Potions (Deliverance Mix).  In any case, I dig it.  What a wedding present.

Someone sang your name today, and a stranger saw me crumble
Haul my broken heart and shell away, beggin’, bury me beside you
The devil popped around today, selling promises and potions
They could take our memory away, help forget I’d ever met you
Tell me, can you please
Kindly take away the misery
Give me a baker’s dozen, please
Wrap me up to go away
But I don’t want to, I need to
Forget you
Don’t want to, but I need to let you go
The devil bent my ear today
‘Bout his magical elixir
That would make the sorrow go away
Help me forget I ever met you
Give me a baker’s dozen please
Wrap me up to go away
I don’t want to, I need to
Forget you
Don’t want to but I need to let you go
3 thoughts on “Also, makes me want a donut.

  1. suntzusays says:

    Did you get your donut fix?

  2. Nope, not yet. We actually have a box of Cafe du Monde beignet mix from Thanksgiving that Mike's mom brought but we never got around to using. That will more than suffice.

  3. Bazarov says:

    I'm already missing the freshly baked goodness of Swedish bakeries. I hope you made use of the ones in Germany while you were there…mmm, strudels and danishes…

Leave a Reply

