Sad Excuse for a Blogger

Wow, a whole week without a single GiST, even.  Apparently there’s a part of my brain that thinks SAVE AS DRAFT counts or something.  One of these years I’ll commit to NaBloPoMo but this is clearly not the year for it.  I feel guilty enough about putting nothing up here as it is.  Ah yes, Modern Guilt.  At this point, why not?  This video both creeps me out and cracks me up.  Hugs.

Modern Guilt “Modern Guilt” from Beck Hansen on Vimeo.


I feel uptight when I walk in the city
I feel so cold when I’m at home
Feels like everything’s starting to hit me
I lost my bearings ten minutes ago
Modern guilt, I’m stranded with nothing
Modern guilt, I’m under lock and key
Misapprehension
Is turning into convention
Don’t know what I’ve done but I feel ashamed
Standing outside the glass on the sidewalk
These people talk about impossible things
And I’m falling out of the conversation
Like a pawn piece in a human shield
Modern guilt is all in our hands
Modern guilt won’t get me to bed
Say what you will
Smoke your last cigarette
Don’t know what I’ve done but I feel afraid

Video & lyrics from Beck.com

5 thoughts on “Sad Excuse for a Blogger

  1. Bazarov says:

    Sad excuse? What's that make me? Well, I guess I don't consider myself a blogger, but one that blogs from time to time, the 'to' sometimes being several months in between.

  2. I guess it makes you just that! I'd never try to project silly self-expectations onto other bloggers. If that was how it worked I'd have been shut down by now. Ha.

  3. suntzusays says:

    Shut down by who? Or what expectations? Every day? Every week? I'm still working on evening out my own expectations to one or two per day. But then again it doesn't seem to impact the amount of attention I get one way or the other. Not nearly as much as titling things as rap lyrics or popular books.

  4. I dunno, the imaginary blog police. Much like fashion police, very good and very bad that they don't actually exist. But mostly good.I'd like to be posting at least every other day…it just waxes and wanes. Sometimes I don't mind posting random/pointless crap, sometimes I can't bring myself to do it. I consider it a victory to get through and comprehend most of your longer posts, especially the economics ones, let alone be able to intelligently comment. At that point a allusive title is totally lost on me, but it's always good brain exercise!

  5. suntzusays says:

    I should be troubled by the fact that my "complaint department" ideas are always esoteric and abstract things or trends rather than "that asshole cut me off!". I think this just means I have a boring enough life to allow me to worry about strange and silly things that nobody in their right mind has the time and inclination to contemplate.

Leave a Reply

