A few splashes of color for another grey day

Not as macabre as the ones in the field down the road (and down the page).  In my own backyard, even.  Kind of glad I planted them late, now.

First splash of red in the neighborhood.  That I’ve noticed so far, anyway.
                         Probably the last daisy for the year.  Sob.
Classic yellow sunflower, though it looks more like a daisy, really.

Red sunflower

I still hate this transition into fall, so I’m making a conscious effort to find cheerful things wherever I can.  Nothing’s more cheerful to me than a sunflower.  Flowers in general, good.
6 thoughts on “A few splashes of color for another grey day

  1. suntzusays says:

    Flowers are sort of like the ultimate "moment-appreciation" device. They're transitory experiences packaged up in a plant that requires a considerable amount of natural and human cultivation to thrive, then blossom for a few days or weeks and then poof. Despite that, they tend to be better at the "not saying something that needs to be said" points of silence between two people than trying to read body language. I'm not sure I've felt any more welcome or closer to anybody because their home had flowers in it however. This might also be more that I'm not typically on good terms with flower orientated people.

  2. Flower oriented people. LOL. Love it.

  3. suntzusays says:

    Well at least the flower orientated people who have some money and time enough to provide themselves with fresh or growing flowers in their homes. I have known many flower aficionados in my time but they were mostly, at best, not rich. By the by, when did "oriented" overtake "orientated" for common use? I've always used the latter. I think it has something to do with learning the means and vocabulary of writing from classical English writers instead of lazy American writers (and their British counterparts who use thesaurus instead of thinking).

  4. I wonder the same thing about preventative and preventive. The latter sounds like a concession made because nobody was pronouncing that extra syllable anyway, so fuck it.

  5. suntzusays says:

    There's a reason for preventative in grammatical usage (it's usually the acceptable noun form). There isn't much of a reason to use orientated over oriented except to be the arrogant blockhead in the room clinging to a decadent past.

  6. Ah, yes. Also, because you can.

Leave a Reply

