That’s how you know it’s a good one.

Please direct your attention to the new venture by Ms. Amelia Witherspoon, of A Common Grey Spider fame: 1,000 Dog-Eared Pages. The book blog to beat all book blogs. I like it when people talk about books, lend me books, borrow my books, write books, write about books, read books. Yes. Books are good. As are people with good taste. So there ya go, what more could you want? A good friend to guide you to or through one of their favorite books is even better than an English teacher to help you understand Shakespeare (oh, am I the only one who needs that?), even better than Shelfari (though Shelfari is pretty frickin’ sweet), because sometimes they’ll just say, hey, you have to read this, and yeah, you could blow that off, but then sometimes they show up and just put a copy in your hot little hand, and that’s pretty hard to refuse. Even when it’s a book whose title or reputation may have you think, meh, I’m not going to enjoy this, you pretty much have to read it. It’s good for you. Makes you more worldly. Broadens your horizons. Builds character. Puts hair on your chest. Wait, what? This is a horrible post. Go read something better.

2 thoughts on “That’s how you know it’s a good one.

  1. Wow, thanks for this!!! Your post makes me really excited. You are so right, and I wish I had more friends like you describe, although you fit the bill pretty well. The Secret Life of Bees, anyone? I had no idea I would enjoy it as much as I did. It was totally one of those books with the reputation I didn't think I wanted for myself. Additionally, borrowing books always makes me a little nervous (like you, I'm prone to disheveling the hell out of them)…but I'm really glad you pushed it. You're a book pusher (appropriate Mean Girls reference? No?). It did in fact make me more worldly. And you wouldn't believe how many chest hairs I have now. Wait, what?

  2. Teeheeheeheeheehee! Very welcome, anytime!

Leave a Reply

