Grace in Small Things, Homecoming

  1. Hot lemon-scented towels. Thank you, Lufthansa.
  2. Airline wine that isn’t $6 – it’s free. More than once, if you like.
  3. Tiny triangles of Camembert.
  4. Chicken that actually resembles chicken, and that sausages and kraut wasn’t the only option.
  5. A really good book to read on the planes, with exactly enough pages remaining to kill the hour of the final leg home. Also, managing not to cry out loud while finishing it, as it was quite a tear-jerker. In a good way.
5 thoughts on “Grace in Small Things, Homecoming

  1. Bazarov says:

    #5–I warned you. I've read books at work that I had to put down frequently so I wouldn't start crying infront of my boss or customers. "On the Beach" and "The Brothers Karamazov" come to mind.

  2. Hah – I do not recall that warning, only you saying "This is what you're getting next!" Wouldn't have stopped me though, even if I had remembered. At that point I was dying to know….well, you know. I won't spoil it for anyone else.

  3. Bazarov says:

    Did you eat potatoes while you were there? If so, were they all small, like our red potatoes? The only time I saw normal sized (big apparently) ones in Sweden were ones they called "Baking" or "Baked" potatoes. I guess their run-of-the-mill potatoes are smaller. I ate a lot less beef while I was there. Ate a lot of chicken, but even more pork. Wienerschnitzel!

  4. Um, once I think. They were smallish, yeah. I think red, yes. Sliced and roasted, served alongside the wiener schnitzel, indeed! I love veal (wiener schnitzel is veal, not pork, ja? Oh, I see. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wiener_Schnitzel Pretty sure every time I've had it, its' been veal.), if I don't think too hard about it. Other than that, all I saw were fries, usually steak-fry style (the thick ones). Yeah, I managed to avoid all tubed meat. I don't generally like meat in a tube. Hah.

  5. But I did see some people harvesting potatoes out in a field – they looked like the bigger bakers. They call them baking potatoes here, too, ya know. You DON'T cook much, haha!

Leave a Reply

