Much Needed

We had so much fun last night at the Dark Star Orchestra show. My video and photo skills are really lacking, especially in the dark, unfortunately. Still, I honestly can’t believe I’ve never done that before. The music was really rather phenomenal; they played all the best ones, the classics, the sing-alongs, plus a few I actually didn’t recognize. However, the best part is always running into people that you haven’t seen in ages. I knew there’d be some of this, but one specific run-in is still making me chuckle: the younger sister of the crazy ex referenced here. I mean, how bad is it when your own flesh and blood believes that you’re in prison because you belong in prison? Bad. She starts rambling on about how he had another daughter, and I mention that I do feel lucky to not have been saddled with any of his offspring, especially since part of his incarceration is due to nonsupport of dependents, and she goes, “Me, too!” Uh…what? I didn’t realize you’d been sleeping together. I’m quite sure that’s not the case, but it was a hilarious dialogue nonetheless.

In any case, the best part is that it was totally FREE. Gorgeous outdoor venue surrounded by verdure and rocky outcroppings and cliffs, insanely entertaining people watching, cheap food and beer, cooler-friendly, dog-friendly, kid-friendly. Will have to make that one a yearly tradition.

8 thoughts on “Much Needed

  1. Veterans' Park Amphitheater in Springfield. Beautiful. After the encore all the dirty hippies even cleaned up after ourselves. It was awesome.

  2. Bazarov says:

    Was there a cliff face behind the stage? I think we played a show there during their second annual Octoberfest. Ha!

  3. Yep, sounds like it! Pretty sweet venue, really. I bet it's super gorgeous in the fall with all the colorful foliage!

  4. Bazarov says:

    It was hotter than the ass crack of a 400lb Louisiana State Highway patrolman in a car with no a/c.

  5. Uh, that's pretty gross. And why Louisiana of all the states?

  6. suntzusays says:

    Cuz it's more funny to say Louisiana than other states. It's got that Frenchy feel to it.

Leave a Reply

