Torture and Teabagging

Fist, a note on the idiocy of our House Republican Leader. I am ashamed that this man represents our state: (via Prose Before Hos via Pharyngula)

Der indeed.

Okay, teabagging. Besides conjuring up the image of one dude resting his hairy balls on the forehead of another (wow, that’s really quite an appropriate image, in context), how fucking ridiculous is that shit? The socially conservative movement is just…dying a slow death, I guess. I suppose if we have the patience, we can just listen for the death rattle. I see very little possibility of a young, fresh-faced, reasonable, relatable human being stepping up to move the ideology forward in a way that might let it actually continue past the forseeable future. Seriously. Rush Limpbaugh and Dickhead Cheney? Not going to help. Who wants to be represented by those two schmucks? Even if you consider yourself a Republican, or a social conservative…do those two men make you proud of anything? Anything at all? I feel dirty just typing their names.

Okay, now torture. Hat tip again to suntzuays. I second that vote. First, to abolish the vice presidency and designate the Secretary of State to take over in the event of an emergency, followed by another general election in the event of the death of a President. Second, and most vehemently, for Dickface Cheney to STFU already. Your five minutes (eight fucking years. puke) is OVER. Crawl back in your spiderhole and monitor your surveillance equipment. I would rather have you spy on me than speak publicly ever again.

I have never been so proud to like the label ‘liberal.’ In the words of JFK:

What do our opponents mean when they apply to us the label “Liberal?” If by “Liberal” they mean, as they want people to believe, someone who is soft in his policies abroad, who is against local government, and who is unconcerned with the taxpayer’s dollar, then … we are not that kind of “Liberal.” But if by a “Liberal” they mean someone who looks ahead and not behind, someone who welcomes new ideas without rigid reactions, someone who cares about the welfare of the people — their health, their housing, their schools, their jobs, their civil rights, and their civil liberties — someone who believes we can break through the stalemate and suspicions that grip us in our policies abroad, if that is what they mean by a “Liberal,” then I’m proud to say I’m a “Liberal.” [September 14, 1960]

3 thoughts on “Torture and Teabagging

  1. suntzusays says:

    Technically “teabagging” is not merely a homosexual act (I’m really not sure there is such a thing as any sex act only performed by homosexuals). The most direct reference I’ve seen to this sexual connotation has been used toward ultra-conservative blogger and Faux News commentator Michelle Malkin. With the idea that imagining her with a hairy set of balls in her mouth dramatically improved the quality of her writing. Sully on his blog does a “Malkin award” for people saying socially stupid things. So it probably does improve. The reason this is important to point out is that for several days conservative bloggers and commentators, on learning of the urban dictionary meaning of “teabagging”, assumed it was some sort of assault on their “manhood”, essentially calling their movement prissy or run by “girly men”, rather than actually understanding the joke as calling the whole thing out of touch and the pointless quivering mass of rage that it was. They’ve always been very touchy over there on the right about their sexuality or perceived orientation for some reason.

  2. I didn’t meant to write it like that…I guess I just thought that even a hetero dude would only do that to his frat brothers, not to a woman he actually would want to have anything to do with his genitals. I don’t remember the movie I first saw that in, but it was a very….Judd-Apatow-esque thing, in my opinion. I don’t think it’s really sexual at all, other than the fact it involves a scrotum. Yeah, you know how I know you’re gay? (This is directed at the right, not you.)Because you think being called gay is an insult.

  3. Hmm…realizing I haven’t looked it up on urbandictionary. The original reference in my mind was specific to placement upon the forehead of an overindulged, passed out buddy. I suppose there is certainly a way to make it sexual after all, but it sure wouldn’t be my cup of tea. Ha.

Leave a Reply

