Quick Update: CASA

I’m crazy busy today (I know, who isn’t?) but I wanted to quickly note that I had my interview with CASA at lunch today. The director is a lovely woman and we had a really nice chat. I need to review the schedule and make sure I know where and when to show up to get officially started with the training, but I am EXCITED. YES, ALL CAPS EXCITED. LET ME THROW IN SEVERAL EXCLAMATION POINTS JUST IN CASE I’M NOT MAKING MY POINT. !!!!!!!.

It’s not really going to be fun, per se, since the whole point is to advocate for abused and neglected kids in the court and foster care system, but I think it’s going to be incredibly gratifying nonetheless. Yay! If anybody stumbles upon this and is looking for a worthwhile volunteer opportunity, Google your local county’s CASA, or start at the link to the National CASA. You will be glad you did.

4 thoughts on “Quick Update: CASA

  1. Kate says:

    This sounds like a great opportunity! You are so lucky to be getting a job and having it be so meaningful.

  2. Well, it’s not paid work – all on a volunteer basis. But it will still be good for me, I hope. Yes, lucky on most all counts, though.

  3. I’m so proud of you! Great choice. I hope it’s fulfilling for you.

  4. Thanks! I’m sure it will be once I get a little hardened to the realities of the kids’ situations…that’s going to be difficult, I’m sure. But the website says that kids who have CASA advocates (oops, that’s like ATM machine) spend less time in foster care and have a better chance of being adopted (90% of the kids don’t go back to their biological families…they do get the worst of the worst cases), so I think it’s definitely a good way to work within the system as it stands now.

Leave a Reply

