One More for Today

Cecily at Uppercase Woman today posted a timely (for me, anyway, since I’ve recently excommunicated myself) question about making changes to your faith home (or lack thereof). I’ve been rather agnostic for quite a while, but I decided to go ahead and take the Belief-O-Matic quiz thing she used…somehow I’m a Quaker! I purposely answered some of the questions leaning more toward belief than no belief, just to try to get a result other than agnostic or atheist. I haven’t looked into what Liberal Quakerism actually entails, and I don’t see a conversion in my future, but just for fun here are my results:

ETA: What Liberal Quakers believe is actually pretty cool, I do believe.

The top score on the list below represents the faith that Belief-O-Matic, in its less than infinite wisdom, thinks most closely matches your beliefs. However, even a score of 100% does not mean that your views are all shared by this faith, or vice versa.

Belief-O-Matic then lists another 26 faiths in order of how much they have in common with your professed beliefs. The higher a faith appears on this list, the more closely it aligns with your thinking.

….

1. Liberal Quakers (100%)
2. Unitarian Universalism (99%)
3. Mainline to Liberal Christian Protestants (93%)
4. Neo-Pagan (90%)
5. Secular Humanism (85%)
6. New Age (76%)
7. Baha’i Faith (73%)
8. Theravada Buddhism (71%)
9. Mahayana Buddhism (68%)
10. Reform Judaism (61%)
11. Taoism (60%)
12. Orthodox Quaker (55%)
13. Nontheist (55%)
14. Christian Science (Church of Christ, Scientist) (54%)
15. New Thought (54%)
16. Jainism (53%)
17. Scientology (48%)
18. Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons) (46%)
19. Sikhism (44%)
20. Mainline to Conservative Christian/Protestant (39%)
21. Jehovah’s Witness (35%)
22. Orthodox Judaism (35%)
23. Hinduism (31%)
24. Islam (29%)
25. Seventh Day Adventist (25%)
26. Eastern Orthodox (23%)
27. Roman Catholic (23%)
7 thoughts on “One More for Today

  1. Bazarov says:

    Ha! Roman Catholic was the last on the list.

  2. Shocking, right? What’s disturbing is that Mormonism is even higher on the list, as is Scientology. Where are my special underwear? Hee.

  3. Bazarov says:

    Jesus is wiping away his tears with them.

  4. I just looked up the Liberal Quaker beliefs; I actually kind of like it! It’s like Maggie on Six Feet Under ;-p. I think that was her name…http://www.beliefnet.com/Faiths/2001/06/What-Liberal-Quakers-Believe.aspxAnyway, it sounds like you wouldn’t be ousted for questioning anything. Pretty cool, really.

  5. suntzusays says:

    You appear to have some agnostic tendencies at least. I had 11 religions appear below your lowest score (23?, I managed to at least get a zero, to war with Jehovah’s Witnesses!). The precise differences between some of them were not adequately addressed by these questions. Hence pretty much all the major Western faiths tied at like 10% on my list. And this is probably only that high because I happen think helping poor people get a decent education is a reasonable idea. Buddhism/Taoism is the only “religion” that appears over 50% on my list. I always liked Eastern philosophy as a teen, and it’s quite a bit less organized into coherent structured rules. More important still, they don’t seem to be wasting a whole lot of time expressing a demand that other people convert to their way of looking at things. UU also doesn’t really count as a religion. It’s more like a social club for people who like organizing things but don’t have to have any religious tendencies. It doesn’t appear to have any pretense toward an ideological protocol in other words. Practically everyone is or could be a member. I’m not sure how someone would get anything less than a 90% for them.

  6. I love your description of UU, that’s hilarious. What I really want to do is go back to yoga/meditation. Never felt as mentally clear after Mass as I did after an hour of yoga.

  7. suntzusays says:

    I’m not saying it’s a bad thing. Darwin was one. But it is like saying your religion is that you’re a breathing human being who is reasonably tolerant of others and likes gathering somewhere on a semi-regular basis. If that’s the premise involved, perhaps that’s fun. But I don’t consider playing a regular card game or having season tickets to some sporting event a basis for religious experience either. Maybe a Packers fan might.Tai Chi is sort of like that (I don’t do either, the flexibility prospects of yoga might be interesting too). Moving around physically is definitely going to be more helpful for the relief of stress and mental exertions than sitting and chanting hymns while someone lectures on the nature of things.

Leave a Reply

