This is not a dog blog

Yesterday Heather over at dooce.com did a meme. She’s not ordinarily a meme girl, but I don’t mind the occasional mindless survey. Since you’re all probably sick of hearing about Dexter already, I’ll change gears and give you something you probably care even less about – my marriage. I know, you can thank me with gifts of chocolate and dog biscuits.

What are your middle names?
Mine is Michelle; his is Dale, which is his dad’s middle name. Mine has zero significance as far as I know.

How long have you been together?
We’ve been married nearly three and a half years, together for…wow, almost seven years? I had to think way too hard to figure that out.

How long did you know each other before you started dating?
Not long. We were introduced once (that both of us ironically don’t really remember) several months before we actually started talking. After the ice was broken I realized I had to break up with the guy I’d been dating because the next one was going to be a doozy.

Who asked whom out?
We did some coy, group hanging-out stuff that I pretty much invited myself to, but he was the one to propose the outing that we call our first date.

How old are each of you?
I’m 28 for another few precious days, and he is 34.

Whose siblings do you see the most?
Mike’s brother lives out of state, so mine. But we still don’t see them as often as we should.

Which situation is the hardest on you as a couple?
This is so hard to answer. I’m sure that we’d both give different answers, which would likely both just be variations of circumstance that tend to make each of us annoy the other, sometimes intentionally, which is the worst. The miscarriage and the emotional aftermath is easily the most dramatic and difficult thing we’ve weathered. It’s still hard to type that.

Did you go to the same school?
Not at the same time. He graduated from Sinclair in 2002, Business Management. I took some classes there too but graduated from Wright State in 2003, Chemistry.

Are you from the same home town?
No. I’m a Beaver; he’s a Hillclimber. I think that’s a hilarious mascot, but few are more easily disparaged than the Beaver.

Who is smarter?
Mike’s memory puts mine to shame. He remembers names, faces of people on TV, radio, in real life. I might remember what the hell they were talking about if I concentrate. I think on my feet a little more quickly, while he takes time to really ponder stuff. I enjoyed academics way more than he did, but I also had more encouragement and resources for college. I think we’re evenly matched. We’re definitely both champion smartasses.

Who is the most sensitive?
I’m totally going with Heather’s answer on this one:

Ahem. Next question.

Where do you eat out most as a couple?
There’s a great sushi restaurant in town called Saya that is our splurge for special occasions. So good.

Where is the furthest you two have traveled together as a couple?
San Diego, on our honeymoon.

Who has the craziest exes?
Now that is a tough one. Let’s see….I think my craziest ex is currently incarcerated for forgery (probably fake IDs for cashing bogus or stolen checks – he stole and cashed my checks during our descent into ex territory. Grand juries are fun!) and dependent non-support. His craziest ex is raising the daughter she conceived with his cousin while they were still engaged. Your call. As Phoebe said once: “Your collective dating record reads like a Who’s Who list of human crap!” Yes that’s a Friends reference.

Who has the worst temper?
He does. He’ll let a million little things add up until he just has to lose it for a minute. I just get angry or annoyed that much more often.

Who does the cooking?
Mike. He’s a meat and potatoes guy, while I would veer dangerously close to vegetarianism if I lived alone. Not because I don’t like to eat meat, but because I get kinda icked out handling raw meat. Especially poultry. And I’m lazy. Every once in a while I’ll get motivated to make something involved, but it’s a rare occurrence.

Who is the neat-freak?
Neither of us hates clutter nearly enough, but he’s at least got his clutter lined up at right angles.

Who is more stubborn?
Again, pretty equally matched. We both have good role models for that.

Who wakes up earlier?
Mike. He’s a morning person. It is just as annoying as you would expect. But he does respect my need to sulk upon waking and he makes an effort to be quiet when I’m trying to sleep in.

Where was your first date?
Best Buy. He had to replace his microwave. (That’s not a joke, but it is funny.) We still have the microwave, even though it’s ridiculously big for our small kitchen. I’d kind of hate to see it go.

Who is more jealous?
Toss up. It’s not a huge issue for us, but he’s more likely to feel a deficit of attention; I have a moment of unreasonable suspicion every now and then. Just because you’re paranoid doesn’t mean they’re not out to get you.

How long did it take to get serious?
Not long. It was a pretty intense connection, so I came right out and said I couldn’t get too attached if he knew he wasn’t the marrying kind. I guess that wasn’t too much pressure.

Who eats more?
Mike. He’s a lot bigger than me.

Who does the laundry?
Mike, mostly. I’m a lucky, lucky woman. And he thinks I don’t do it right. Good thing we don’t have a dishwasher.

Who’s better with the computer?
I’ll say me. He might argue.

Who drives when you are together?
Depends which car we decide to take. Usually he drives his, I drive mine. He’s not a huge fan of the stick shift, but he can hold his own. I tend to rule the radio, though. I don’t make him listen to country with the exception of maybe one song (the only one I even stop to listen to anymore), and I can’t be subjected to Van Halen for more than 15 seconds, tops.

If anyone would like to play along please leave a link in the comments.

8 thoughts on “This is not a dog blog

  1. Bazarov says:

    Did a meme? You’ll have to explain how you’re using that word, because I have a completely different notion on the use of that word.

  2. Uh…I used it unthinkingly. I have no idea what part of speech it’s supposed to be.

  3. Bazarov says:

    It was coined by Richard Dawkins in his book, The Selfish Gene. It’s funny–encarta’s website dictionary says Late 20th Century. You can think of it as a mental gene, an idea that repeats itself by spreading from mind to mind. For a fuller explanation, I’d suggest reading the book. I think it’s one of the books intellectuals will be talking about a hundred years from now 😉

  4. Cool. So I…spread a meme? Propagated it?

  5. Bazarov says:

    Just like genes, and they can mutate as well, like when the words to a song get misheard and that becomes the version people know better than the “correct” version. Anything from how to tie your shoes to languages are memes, and surprisingly enough, I didn’t hear one peep about it from any of the many psychology courses I took. It, like a lot things I find most interesting, I had to find on my own.However, in this case I’d just say survey, or possibly chain-survey. It sounds forced to call this or what was done on the blog you linked to a ‘meme’.

  6. “likely to feel a deficit of attention” is such a perfect way to say that. I’m totally swiping that.

  7. Have at it! Thanks for dropping in!

Leave a Reply

