As a follow-up to Blogging for Choice Day, check out this idiocy.
Virginia is trying to require that “When a fetal death occurs without medical attendance upon the mother at or after the delivery or abortion, the mother or someone acting on her behalf shall, within 24 hours, report the fetal death, location of the remains, and identity of the mother to the local or state police or sheriff’s department of the city or county where the fetal death occurred. No one shall remove, destroy, or otherwise dispose of any remains without the express authorization of law-enforcement officials or the medical examiner. Any person violating the provisions of this subsection shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.”
Yeah, that’s just what a miscarrying woman needs to do. File a report and probably subject herself to an investigation! Sick, sick, sick.
Via Uppercase Woman.
ETA: Directly quoted update/clarification from Cecily:
“Secondly, Suzanne had some questions about the bill. She noted that it was already a law in Virginia to report any miscarriage, as it is in several other states. However, those laws all apply to miscarriages past 20 weeks, and this new law being proposed in Virginia is for miscarriages AT ANY GESTATION, even five or six or ten weeks. Which means you’ve already had all your hopes and dreams fall into the toilet, and now you have to pull out the “evidence,” call the cops, and have them come file a report about it because most early miscarriages happen at home and are not much more dramatic than a typical monthly period. THIS IS ALL KINDS OF FUCKED UP. Don’t let it happen. Find out who your rep is in Virginia here and contact them and tell them to not let this happen.”