Helluva Tuesday

Today was a damn fine day.

First, of course, the Inauguration. I finally heard the new President’s speech on my drive home, and I managed to not wreck my car while dabbing my eyes with a tissue. I am so proud of this country. So proud. Don’t even know what else I can say about it yet. Beaming.

Second, not three seconds after I texted Mike to bring home something fermented so we could toast our new Commander-in-Chief, there is a knock at the front door. The UPS man brought our first delivery from the wine club we joined. Yes, yes, completely frivolous expense, but we’ve exhausted what decent selections the grocery store carries and frankly we’re too lazy – no! energy efficient! – to go to the wine shops and blindly try new ones. The wines the club offers aren’t expensive wines, by any means, so I thought it would be a good way to try some things that might not even be in stores around here. So far, so very good. This Jones Bridge 2006 Cab Sauv reminded me of the California raisins of my childhood on first sip. Yum.

Third, and hell yes I saved the best for last, when I opened the door for the UPS guy, he asked if my mom or dad were home to sign for an over-21 delivery! Somehow that’s even better than getting carded, which still happens to me occasionally, but not nearly as often as I’d like to be so flattered.

A damn fine day.

4 thoughts on “Helluva Tuesday

  1. suntzusays says:

    I always found being carded for things to be annoying. It hasn’t happened in a long time (since R rated movies are about the only possible occurrence for me, speaking of which Gran Turino was good). But I didn’t relish the carding experience as somehow flattering either. Must be a holdout of gender biases, or else I’m just odd and don’t like it when people take up my time for no reason. Still. To borrow from Ice Cube, Today was a good day.

  2. Yeah, it seems misogynistic that women are perceived to dry up with age while men become more distinguished. But then…George Clooney. Hee.And I can’t quite bring myself to quote rap directly, but….

  3. Tanyetta says:

    I agree! Yesterday was:**A damn fine day**:)

Leave a Reply

