Undecided by David Sedaris

Link to his essay in the New Yorker.

My favorite part:

We drove back home, and when asked by my father whom she had voted for, my mother said that it was none of his business.
“What do you mean, ‘none of my business’?” he said. “I told you to vote Republican.”
“Well, maybe I did and maybe I didn’t.”
“You’re not telling me you voted for Humphrey.” He said this as if she had marched through the streets with a pan on her head.
“No,” she said. “I’m not telling you that. I’m not telling you anything. It’s private—all right? My political opinions are none of your concern.”
“What political opinions?” he said. “I’m the one who took you down to register. You didn’t even know there was an election until I told you.”
“Well, thanks for telling me.”

To think that even today, some women actually do that – just vote how their husbands tell them to: Daily Kos.

Via dooce.

4 thoughts on “Undecided by David Sedaris

  1. suntzusays says:

    Seen any houses with both signs up in the front yard? I suspect, with some shame, my parents would be this way, if McCain wasn’t rapidly turning into a pile of stale jello. That probably explains my adherence to classical liberalism.I’m not sure I attach to the sympathy of a repressed opinion, because I grew up in a household that discussed opinions and ideas. But I do know that few people actually hold opinions that aren’t so easily swayed as by a marriage vow or a union foreman, etc. Based on something substantive and not a superficial, flippant choice based on those silly ads. That to me is more sad than people feeling guilty or repressed because they married someone that they can’t disagree agreeably with on politics or some other matter..which to me is their own damn fault.

  2. undecided says:

    At least your parents participate! My parents have NEVER VOTED. Granted, they don’t complain about much, either, but I find it so hard to understand how they can maintain apathy in this kind of political and economic climate. Very zen, haha. Mike used to be a hard core Republican, basically just because his parents are (his mom actually still thinks Obama’s a Muslim – makes my head explode!), but I’ve converted him. If not to liberalism, at least to a more reasonable moderate stance.

  3. Bazarov says:

    The last time I was in Sweden it was during an election cycle. I don’t remember seeing any signs being displayed in people’s yards or anything like that. I can’t even recall any TV ads. I do remember seeing some tables set up in schools or other buildings with literature about the various parties. I think there were at least half a dozen parties because they’re on a parlimentary system. But it was much less in your face than here and I think voter turn out is double there compared to here. Few people talked about politics in the open from what I observed, at least party politics and it was much more tolerable there then than it is here now when elections are going on. And yet, I got the impression most people were more informed about the whole election process and their country’s politics than the average person is here. Oh, and they also have a ‘none of the above’ option so you can show you voted but didn’t like any of the options. I believe that’s how one of my cousins voted when I was there.

  4. suntzusays says:

    They just talked about Canada and Britain’s election seasons on Daily show recently, both of which last about a month. Ours never ends. It’s a tremendous waste of energy considering the results. But then, our advertising in general holds more sway than it should to provide unreasonable behavior. (drug co ads?)I’d definitely want a none of the above option. At least in the absence of legit 3rd options (as would be more likely in Europe/Canada). “We’ll see”. The Taoist zen thing is funny.

Leave a Reply

