Shall we debate the definition of the word maverick?

I have held off discussing politics up until now. However! I rend my garments and gnash my teeth that I could not liveblog the VP debate. Never so poignantly have I pined for a laptop. I didn’t expect to get so riled up beforehand, but that woman…no. No.

I actually started to feel nervous and embarrassed for Palin when she rambled and said nukyular repeatedly and reversed her “attributed to”‘s, but that didn’t last long. My empathy, that is. Her non-sentences and slogans persisted. She clearly has her catch-phrases and talking points memorized, and I’m no public speaker, but her folksy, down-home, my gerunds don’t need no dang gs on their end bullshit is like fingernails scraping across a chalkboard to my ears.

And did she fucking wink at me?

I’m not so sure about the three reasons given, but the intro is great in this article in TIME.

I won’t say I hate her. But I would have trouble narrowing down to three my reasons for emphatically disliking her and hating the idea of her potentially having to be President.

5 thoughts on “Shall we debate the definition of the word maverick?

  1. Bazarov says:

    YES! I’ve been waiting for this and have long wondered why the flowers, as pretty as they are, haven’t been moved southward given your interest in this VP pick.Let your anger flow! It makes you strong, gives you power! Join the dark side!…yeah…Glad to see this blog finally get some use. I didn’t watch. I can’t watch any longer or I think my head will explode. Emigration seems to be my solution. This process, though, of protracted public displays of idiocy is a never ending fountain of inspiration for ideas. It’s like Xmas advertising, it starts earlier every cycle. Before we know it Xmas ads and political ads will go non-stop all the time 😉

  2. undecided says:

    Yeah, been a long time coming. I have real difficulty gathering my reasoning into coherent sentences (hah! something in common with her!) because it all just seems so PAINFULLY OBVIOUS why she’s an unqualified embarrassment. If I had time I’d love to go through the transcript and just keep mocking all her “straight talk.” I actually thought Biden did a really good job, with the exception of the use of the term “Bosniacs.” I wonder where that came from?!

  3. Bazarov says:

    I liked the article too. Ha! Being pretty is a bad thing. Women, such loveable, but at times, odd creatures.

Leave a Reply

