200

This is my two-hundredth post on this blog. I’ll open with a quote I found when I googled ‘two hundred.’

There is a difference between a book of two hundred pages from the very beginning, and a book of two hundred pages which is the result of an original eight hundred pages. The six hundred are there. Only you don’t see them.

Elie Wiesel wrote a short book that I’ll never forget, Night. The rest of the quotes on the thinkexist page I linked to above are also worth reading. But if you haven’t ever read Night, I strongly encourage you to do so. It’s very short, but so moving, I can’t even properly describe how much I think that every person who can read, should read that book.

I write to understand as much as to be understood.”

This blog has allowed me to say things I might have otherwise kept inside, where they would do me more harm than good. It’s helped me take a step back from myself and realize what I really value in my life. It’s been pretty great therapy, and it’s free. I’m nowhere near done with this blog; I hope to keep it up for a very long time. In contrast to what I do on myspace, I don’t edit the archives here for content. Yet. I hope I never feel the need to remove any posts or any parts of them.

Friendship marks a life even more deeply than love. Love risks degenerating into obsession, friendship is never anything but sharing.

I’ve truly enjoyed sharing this with you readers. I’ve enjoyed very much what you’ve shared with me in return. To me, this is what life’s all about. Not blogging per se, but the exchange of ideas, the want to explore things outside myself, outside my sphere of comfort, and tell people who care what I think about those things; hearing what others think about those things, forming opinions and allowing myself to change those opinions as I learn new ways to approach issues and ideas. I love it.

I don’t think there’s a logical conclusion to this post, because it’s still just a continuation. So here’s one last quote from Eli Wiesel:

Words can sometimes, in moments of grace, attain the quality of deeds.

9 thoughts on “200

  1. Bazarov says:

    Congratulations! I think I got a while yet before I even reach 100 :pI’ll move “Night” into the next position of the reading list 🙂 It’s gotta be good if you liked it that much, eh?

  2. AmeDame says:

    Thanks! I know, I’m a bit….verbose, haha. Yeah, Night’s a must-read, but I don’t know if it’s right to say it’s ‘good’ or that I ‘liked it,’ I just think it’s one of those important books. Let’s just say it’s not completely heart-warming. You might cry, but I do that all the time anyways, heh.

  3. Bazarov says:

    Crying’s fine. Good books will do it to ya sometimes. But what bothers me is when contrived sentimental horse-shit does it to me; that makes me angry. I remember looking at this ad in Discover Magazine or something and it’s this little girl crying because she was getting or had just gotten a shot in the arm and the mother’s smiling and consoling her. For some reason that did it to me; I just started welling up and then I got pissed for being moved by a fucking marketing ploy. Makes me wonder if James had it right in that the reactions come first. The famous example is: YOu don’t run because you’re scared. You’re scared because you’re running. Who knows? In any event, here’s to 200 more! Cheers! Skål!

  4. AmeDame says:

    Which James is this?

  5. Bazarov says:

    Well, one of em is a famous novelist and the brother is a famous psychologist. I believe William James is the psy guy and I’m not sure what the name of his brother was. Shit, let me do a wiki search real quick…Ok, his siblings were Henry James and Alice James. And here’s some stuff on his theory of emotions…http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_James#Theory_of_emotionI have certain qualms with it but he’s right in most regards in my opinion. I’d read DaMasio though if you want a modern account of our emotions. Descartes Error and The Feeling of What Happens I’ve read…not too shabby. The Synaptic Self by Joseph LeDoux goes into some what similar territory but is much more technical in detailed.

  6. AmeDame says:

    Heh. I’m not sure if I want to analyze my emotions just yet. I’m on decent terms with them for the moment, but that can change at the drop of a hat.

  7. suntzusays says:

    Actually, technically he’s a philosopher who is more famous as a founder of psychological theory in America. I believe he was a big defender of religious thinking in concert with more pragmatic and logical orders. In other words, I’d have to call into question the powers of reasoning involved… As far as the chicken/egg questions on emotion.. I’d have to say that it’s probably a bit more complicated than to state simply which one comes first. I think the answer is “it depends”, sometimes the emotion is logical/thought reaction (which in a way is a physiological reaction of its own) and sometimes it’s stirred up by our physiology and is merely reflexive action. Essentially, I think human beings are a symphony of efforts resulting in something; hopefully sounding somewhat better than a cacophony of noise. Most psychologists seem to what to simplify this into one or two notes, which is great for study but bad for any real appreciation of the subject.

  8. AmeDame says:

    Hm. I just don’t see how this matters. If you convince yourself that your feelings are either the stimulus or the reaction to one….does it change the feelings? Should one want that? Too much to consider in this big world…too much.

  9. suntzusays says:

    That’s why I stuck with philosophy instead of getting heavier into psychology. It seems more pointless (philosophy) than neurobiology.

Leave a Reply

