Boy Friends

Last night while Mike was playing basketball, I got together with two guys I went to high school with. It was a manly girl’s night for me. I had so much fun, just sitting, chatting, joking, eating. I’m terribly impressed that neither of them felt the need to check any basketball scores during the time period I was with them. Good times. I am always so amused slash embarrassed to talk with people that knew of me in high school but didn’t really know me, and vice-versa. I think the quote was, “I had no idea you were….cool.” Hilarious. I don’t know if I’m cool, but I’m working on it. It’s a life-long process, right? That cheerleader thing is hard to live down, but I think it’s still possible.

I met Mike at home so he could drop Hippo off with me before he went to his buddy’s to watch basketball. If you hadn’t gathered, I’m pretty sick of basketball. Seems maybe I should randomly pick a team and root for them; maybe if I were interested it wouldn’t be so annoying.

Tonight we’re having another couple over for dinner and drinks. Should be fun, and the dog will have someone to play with that’s not already irritated with his presence. Now, ‘tis time to go be a ‘mad scientist,’ as our office manager calls us.

11 thoughts on “Boy Friends

  1. Anonymous says:

    Sick of basketball? I can’t imagine why. Thanks for letting me drop the dog though, I had a real good time with the fellas. I’m yours the rest of the weekend babe, and we can watch basketball….tonight, tomorrow, and the day after that. Love you

  2. AmeDame says:

    gee thanks. Instead, I think I’d rather fight a losing battle and try to get you to watch anything else. I’m hard-headed like that. love you too.

  3. Bazarov says:

    Don’t be embarrassed about the cheerleading. I think the point trying to be made was that we could only ogle but never even dream of approaching one of the vixens of the cheering guild. Admiration from afar type of thing. I can’t speak for the other, but I’m pretty sure that’s what he meant. When I told him you might be stopping by he asked about you and I’m trying to remember the word I used to describe you…I think it was conscientious. I think he must’ve had a similar take that I had back then…stereotypes can be so hard to break, can’t they?

  4. AmeDame says:

    Eh. It’s not really embarrassment, I’m just astounded at how the whole stereotype separated me from so many people, even after I was no longer a cheerleader! Guys say that, and yet have no idea that the girls they were ogling probably stayed standoffish just ‘cuz we (or I, anyway) assumed that THEY assumed we were stuck-up bitches. Some of us certainly were, but far from all of us. I guess that’s why it’s a stereotype!

  5. Bazarov says:

    I never knew if they were standoffish or not…i never got that close to em to find out hahahaha. Well some you knew were #%*!@$, but I think that’s more because they didn’t make much of a secret of it. But as for the others, you just see the boys they did date and then you start assuming. Ahh, fucking highschool…good times, eh? At least it was better than Jr. High. Wow. I could see me spending hours on the therapist’s couch talkin about that confused horseshit.

  6. AmeDame says:

    heh. me, too! I can only imagine having enough cash around to pay someone to listen to my bullshit and speak in soothing tones to me for an hour every week. That would be awesome!

  7. suntzusays says:

    Amused/Embarrassed. I guess it depends on the whosits and wherefor.The dog is already irritable? Good times. Back to basketball.. it’s only a month. And then it’s back to .. hmm. Life? That can’t be right.

  8. AmeDame says:

    No, Mike and I are irritated with the dog, not the other way around! That’s funny…a cranky dog. All this basketball is rotting your brain!

  9. suntzusays says:

    Dogs are often cranky–If the owners aren’t nice or if they’re in a strange environment or they go to the vet. But I see your point from reading the sentence over.. As I say, I know nothing in MarchBasketball will be slightly over soon anyway. I’m already out of my pools. Which is disappointing. I had a good run for a few years going until last year. The sobering effects of reality are setting in.

  10. AmeDame says:

    okay, if you say so. I’ve never had my own dog, I’m just everyone’s favorite dogsitter. I’m cheap like that.So, wait. You didn’t bet on the Buckeyes? You heretic! heehee. Sorry you’ve been disapointed this year…

  11. Anonymous says:

    uhh…i like how you admit to the stuck up bitch thing…that’s awesome…and quite alright. You’ve grown out of it at least!

Leave a Reply

