I miss JPII

This is moronic. The last I heard, the word ‘catholic’ still meant UNIVERSAL. For all people. For everyone. Even if you’re gay. No? Silly me.

I get the whole ‘value life’ thing. Abortion shouldn’t be so tempting, and it wouldn’t be if every woman who finds themself pregnant had the resources available to them to feel comfortable in moving from a woman to a mother. The death penalty is barbaric.

If the pope’s going to show up on the front page of google news, I’d like it to be about his stance on humanitarian issues, not political ones.

“I believe in an America where the separation of church and state is absolute–where no Catholic prelate would tell the President (should he be Catholic) how to act, and no Protestant minister would tell his parishioners for whom to vote–where no church or church school is granted any public funds or political preference–and where no man is denied public office merely because his religion differs from the President who might appoint him or the people who might elect him.” JFK

I realize these are politcally charged times. But we can still choose which issues deserve our focus. Sexual orientation should not be something that everyone feels the need to give a heated opinion about. Why do people care so much who other people are fucking? Does your opinion on someone else’s sex life change your own? Do you get more ass as a homophobe? Do you feel better about yourself by judging others? Ah. There’s the nail I’m trying to hit over the head.

2 thoughts on “I miss JPII

  1. How you gonna support unity and universality using Latin and Gregorian chant, while banning gay marriage at the same time? I didn’t even think he was supposed to be Pope anymore.

  2. AmeDame says:

    Who? the new guy? or JPII? I can’t even remember the new guy’s name offhand….Ratzinger, but now I gotta go look up his pope-name….terrible!

Leave a Reply

