Today the guy’s sign said:

“Change is good, but

Dollars are better.”

And I disagree.

That’s more than half of what’s wrong with the whole fucking world. I like having money, and I like spending money, but I’m enjoying it more than ever now that I feel like I’ve also contributed to causes that will never benefit me. I feel less guilty about my hands-free, voice-dialing, Onstar cellphone minutes and my $88 Etienne Aigner chambray blue leather handbag (even though it was a gift!) knowing that we provided at least five mosquito nets to African families that might lose lives without them. I’m trying to minimize my quixotic idealism, but I don’t want to lose it all together.

Leave a Reply

