Death Penalty

yeah. I think we maybe should stop killing people, at least until

a. we have ironclad, DNA confirmed, irrefutable evidence of guilt
b. we make sure that the way we do it is as humane as the way we euthanize beloved pets.

If somebody molested my child or killed a family member, I probably would want to exact vengeance. But I don’t think watching them squirm through a botched execution would really make me feel any better about my own loss. Hopefully I’ll never have to consider this any further.

But I don’t think things like this should be so entertaining. Something’s definitely wrong with that.

14 thoughts on “

  1. Bazarov says:

    You realize the only modern country to still have capital punishment on the books is the US, right? You can’t even be considered for membership to the EU if you still have that on the books. It’s way past due that we got rid of that barbaric tie to the past.First off, no court is infallible. You can’t pardon a dead man. Second, if society deems it wrong to kill, than why can society kill? Sorry, replace kill with murder. I’m all for euthanasia as all enlightened people are :pThird, it’s just wrong. Sure the victims surviving family would probably want revenge, but that’s not justice. And the more we learn about the human brain and psyche the less willing we become in using words like “evil”. Those of us who question freewill have a hard time with the death penalty.I liked the way Bertrand Russell put it, and i’ll try to sum it up although i know i won’t be nearly as succint and concise as he. He wrote something along these lines: If you find a murderer and look into his past, you’ll find causes for his actions. And if you look for the causes of those causes, before long you’ll have gotten to the point before the man was even born. It hardly seems proper to hold someone accountable for things that took place before they were even around. So, we should treat the murderer in much the same way we treat a quarantined man. We do not call the quarantined man evil and we do not punish him, because it is of no fault of his own that he has become the way he has. We do not let him go free either because he is a risk to the rest of us. So we keep him locked up until we can find a cure or treatment for him, but we don’t beat him, torture him, murder him, or anything else dispicable. That’s it in a nutshell. I loved how one study found many cases didn’t even meet the requirements for putting down a dog! Oh, we humans. Fascinating creatures, aren’t we?

  2. Undecided says:

    Doooode. We should write a book together! Does not stop amazing me how two very different upbringings can land us both at the same conclusions most of the time!

  3. Bazarov says:

    How about you act as my ghost writer and I just put my name on it? You can do the PR stuff too as I’m sure you’re much more of a people person and pleasing to the eye. What would the book be about?

  4. Undecided says:

    er….too many details. I’m still liking your title…but if we ever end up doing PR, you have to have stage fright with me! *palms sweating*

  5. Anonymous says:

    I totally disagree w/ the both of you. I’m takin’ it back to the olden days. Eye for an eye baby. I feel consequences detour action more than the ‘fear of rehabilitation’. Some folks just can’t be rehabilitated. They’re flat out twisted. The average sentence for murder 5-7 yrs. It costs approximately $130 per day out of our pockets to house an inmate. Hence, I do not support life sentences. Of course, if it is an evil ass mother fucker, the other inmates will surely merk him for us (Dahmer). That way, the general population still seems civilized. And by the way, can somebody tell me why sexual offenders, on average, spend 2-3 yrs. in prison? They’re diseased individuals according to the DM-IV (or whatever vol. now). What reasoning is there for hope of rehabilitation w/out medication?? Just a thought….

  6. Undecided says:

    anonymous, think about it. if you’re going to kill someone as a crime of passion (seriously, read C&P), you’re not going to stop first to think about whether the court will sentence you to death or not…you’re just going to kill the fucker. In this instance, the consequence certainly does not curtail the crime. Also, watch Bowling for Columbine. I’m not really a Michael Moore fan, but sometimes I would like to raise my kids in Canada!

  7. Anonymous says:

    Alrighty, I’ll address that issue. I should have been more specific. First degree murder (willful, deliberate, AND premeditated) should constitute a slow, tortuous, and painful death for the offender. Second degree murder (non-premeditated) should be punished by a short stay in jail away from the general population for some R&R or possibly no prison time at all. Golly, now that you got me thinkin’, maybe those sick fucks could be useful to society. We could entrap them in a secure area and let them brutally murder others like themselves for sport. ~REVENUE~ Hey, I’m business oriented. If I can’t stack paper from it, it’s just not worth it.

  8. Anonymous says:

    And yes, I’ve seen Bowling for Columbine and thoroughly enjoyed it! Yay for Canada, eh….

  9. Bazarov says:

    Evil? That’s an ancient word and dead concept. You might as well be crying about the current witch problem our country is facing. Eye for an eye is gang mentality. That’s why you have ongoing violence passed on through the generations and the never ending turmoil in the mideast. Plus, if you’re going to use any of the Old Testament as your guide for political and societal arrangements may I suggest you try out one of those nice white, canvas jackets with the long sleeves? Your feelings on the ability of harsh punishments deterring violent crime is just that, a feeling. The states with the highest execution rates have the highest murder rates. So if anything, there’s a negative correlation. As was pointed out by undecided, it does nothing for crimes of passion.Flat out twisted? You seem to forget that people are their brains and not some freefloating non-existent thingy inside the corporal shells of their body. The points still stand, whether or not you disagree with them. 1.) You can’t pardon a dead man. 2.) The hypocricy still stands in the legal system with not allowing murder but allowing state-sanctioned murder. 3.) It’s not a view any modern enlightened human being would ever take.No one should be killing anyone without the victim’s consent. It’s really rather plain and simple. Your comment about gettin revenue from death row inmates killing each other is like Carlin’s bit on the matter, although he’s a comedian and I gather his purpose for suggesting it was for laughs.You can’t rely on the DSM for things like that in my opinion. It’s constantly evolving. And wouldn’t you say anyone who kills another human being is by definition not sane? Who kills people and eats them and then gets away with it because they used the insanity defense? That’s what they are, not sane. There is something wrong with their nervous system or chemistry or something or other. It’s a bit like blaming diabetics for hoarding all the insulin. Crazy people are crazy and it’s not because they “chose” to be, they just are.It’s ideas like yours that led to those possessed epileptics being burned at the stake, because it was just plain obvious that they were just puppets of satan who needed to be roasted and killed. Your memes need to go extinct if our species is ever to make any progress 😉

  10. Undecided says:

    It’s better to be kind than it is to be right.

  11. Bazarov says:

    Hmm…I’m not sure I agree. There’s obviously a fine line here. I’d agree if I was name calling, but I think some things are just beyond arguing, such as using the OT to dictate our society’s policies. But as long as there isn’t threats or name calling, I really don’t see why it’s wrong to force the truth out. How else is it to come about? Do you just let the train wreck happen or do you piss off a few people by delaying their departure so that you can fix the minor problem before it becomes catastrophic? It isn’t the first time I’ve been criticized for being too forceful in arguing though, so you’re probably right and I’m wrong in this case. I wouldn’t say it’s a universal truth though that it’s better to be nice than right. I’d gladly hurt some feelings to be right on quite a few things 😉

  12. Undecided says:

    OT? anyways, I wasn’t trying to make a universal truth…just don’t chase away the readers! My writing’s not going to improve if I only have an audience of one…anonymous is a nice girl, just let her be….I agree, forceful argument is fine. As is fully evident in our fucked up society, you can’t hardly convince most people, even if you are fully in the right.

  13. Anonymous says:

    I feel the mideast’s turmoil is due to misinterpretation of an outrageously strict and demanding religion. Religion, as opposed to spirituality, is the root of much conflict throughout history.Partner, for example, TX has the highest capital punishment death rate and yet, it’s murder rate is only, at the highest, 17th in the nation (13th at the turn of the millenium).Wow, evil is a dead concept in a world dominated by religion and yet crazy is an acceptable adjective. Hmmm… Creative writing is fun, but writing based on research is, ultimately, more persuasive. I feel your strategy is to write excessive amounts of contradicting dribble until the audience forgets what the topic was in the first place. Faintly reminds me of trying to fluff up my paper in HS just to get those 8 pages (or paragraphs…whatever). Soooo… I think I see what you’re saying, toss priests and ‘crazy people’ w/ the inmates into the death ring. Similar to brackets in a tournament?! Brrrriilllliiant!

  14. Bazarov says:

    You may have some points there. I’ll double check my facts before pursuing those points.The tangent hopping is quite common for me, but I don’t think it’s intended with the purpose you suggested. It’s more of a lazy to reread what i just wrote and writing in a rant mode rather than trying to present a coherent type of stance.What else? Oh, OT=Old Testament.On the mideast i’d say there’s an underlying problem that is masked by religious and or political dogma. I agree with you on the creative writing vs. researched writing when it comes to the top 10% of the public. However, if you want to get at the other 90% i think you must venture into fiction. What Is To Be Done? and Uncle Tom’s Cabin are two examples. I take it the last paragraph is you being facetious? I certainly hope I didn’t give the impression that I thought clergy and inmates on deathrow should be fighting to death for the enjoyment of outsiders. I will admit that a smirk crossed my face when i read about an inmate beating one of those child molesting priests to death in jail. I found it funny how a convicted felon had the moral highground to a priest (that is, until he murdered a fellow human being). Maybe I shouldn’t laugh at things like that, or when pastors die of electrocution because they were holding a microphone while performing a baptism, but i do and i guess that makes me an asshole. But atleast i won’t be executing anyone :)Last but not least, everytime I read ‘brilliant’ now, i think of a beer commercial. Ahh, the power of marketing.

Leave a Reply

