Medical Research?

Here’s where I’m taking it:

nothingbutnets.net

5 thoughts on “

  1. Bazarov says:

    Feel free to give me a ton of shit for the comment I’m about to make, because I realize it’s probably deserving of it.The one good thing that will come out of all that suffering over there is a natural cure/resistance to those diseases. Sickle cell is an extreme version which is harmful, it’s less malignant form gives some resistance to malaria. There are lots of examples of these types of things that can be found across various diseases. Certain groups of Jews have a natural resistance to typhus I believe it is. In any case, there’s a lot of natural selection taking place there and if any natural immunity were to spawn, that’d be the place for it to happen. I often wonder if I as a human being who have it so well shouldn’t do more to help those people. But then I think, I didn’t make those people. The parents are to blame. I guess it’s possible some are so miseducated or enshrined in myth that they don’t realize where babies come from, but if you can’t feed it, don’t send pictures of it starving and riddled by flies so that I’ll feed it for you. Quit fucking! I think it’s a bit immoral to have kids in a place like that or any war zone, let alone the fucking desert. I’m with Sam Kinison on this one. Don’t send them food, send them boxes and trucks so they can move out of the desert! I used to feel a compulsion to help my fellow human beings, but having been around em long enough I’m starting to realize that perhaps they should be made to carry the burden they’ve created. I’m almost done with Atlas Shrugged and it’s turned me over to the dark side somewhat. This is something I’d like to argue with someone over because I’m not real sure where I stand. I’ll shut up now and await the onslaught.

  2. Undecided says:

    Absolutely. The genetics will probably work itself out eventually, but until then I see no reason why more fortunate people shouldn’t give a shit. I heard on NPR this morning that the study of mention proved that promiscuity has nothing to do with why AIDS is so rampant there. Fucking is an inalienable human right, don’t ya think? I don’t care how bad my life gets, I don’t want anyone telling me whether or not or how to fuck! Unfortunately the Catholic church has discouraged the use of condoms in Africa for way too long. I think that most people in war zones and horrible living conditions are just doing what they gotta do to get by…if you send them trucks and boxes, where exactly are they going to move to? There’s not really a country on that continent that’s ready to welcome all the refugees that would surely like to go somewhere else. Or on any other continent, for that matter. I don’t think it’s about placing blame or figuring out who should be doing what for whom…kind of like my stance on environmentalism, we’re all on this planet together. If we don’t even try to take care of each other, regardless of what we might think of each other, we’re not getting anywhere as a species. Be kinder than is necessary, for everyone you meet is fighting some kind of battle. I don’t know who said that, but I’m trying to prefer being kind to being right. I will of course fail miserably from time to time, but an A for effort will make me happier than giving up on people in general.

  3. Bazarov says:

    Fuck…I posted a long winded response and it got lost to the shadows of world wide web. I’m too lazy to reiterate what I wrote, so I’ll get back to ya on it some other time.I’m really interested in hacking out a stance though. I’m still up in the air on a lot of these social issues and would like to see if someone can’t straighten me out some or if I just end up straightening everyone else out :p

  4. Undecided says:

    ‘saright…It’s been pointed out to me that if I had kids of my own or made more money, I might be a lot more protective over what I’ve got and less willing to think I might not deserve it….things change, people change. I’m bitter enough for now, hoping it won’t get too much worse!

  5. Bazarov says:

    I know what ya mean. That stupid catch-phrase always comes up: “If you’re not liberal by twenty you don’t have a heart and if you’re not conservative by forty you don’t have a head.”I always assumed that people just got broken, like a young horse, by life and that’s why they went conservative. I’m not so sure anymore. I would never consider myself a Republican, but I’m sliding towards the Libertarians at a disturbing rate…

Leave a Reply

